• Cover_Eriksson_Myhr_Malmstrom_album
  • Eriksson_Myhr_Malmström-Pressfoto 1

För sola skin’ på tak – Eriksson/Myhr/Malmström

1. För sola skin’ på tak
2. Vidden
3. Ansols
4. Fjärde
5. Halling
6. Gangar
7. Askersby
8. Saltskär
9. Å lykton

THOMAS ERIKSSON: gitar - HELGA MYHR: hardingfele - ANNA MALMSTRÖM: klarinett

Swedish/Norwegian trio playing newly composed, nordic folk music

kr 151

Genre: Folkemusikk

Eriksson/Myhr/Malmström is a newly started Swedish/Norwegian trio playing newly composed, nordic folk music on guitar, hardanger fiddle and clarinet / bass clarinet. With elements of improvisation and voicing based on counterpoint techniques, the trio has found an exciting musical expression. In September, they will release their debut album “För sola skin’ tak” consisting of 9 beautiful compositions by Thomas Eriksson.


Thomas Eriksson has long been playing on the Swedish and Norwegian folk music scene in many different projects but is now finally seen with his own band. With this project, he wants to highlight the guitar as a melodic instrument and provide space for sounds and free improvisation. The guitar’s melodic and contrapuntal role adds a new nuance, and the hardanger fiddle and clarinet go beyond their roles as melodic instruments with improvised soundscapes and accompaniment. Thomas says: 

«I was looking for an instrumentation where ordinary melodic instruments could also add an exciting accompaniment when the guitar leads the melody. When I heard Helga Myhr’s solo album which contains a lot of improvisation and soundscapes, I realized that this was exactly what I was looking for. I have always liked the sound of hardanger fiddle and bass clarinet together, and I wanted to be able to write a three-part arrangement with access to a deep bass. It was then a natural choice to ask Anna Malmström to join the project»  

Thomas Eriksson is a guitarist and composer who works mainly with Nordic folk music. After graduating from the University of Music and Drama in Gothenburg in 2016, he has worked as a theater musician in many productions at the renowned Västenå Theater and freelance with projects such as Eriksson / Myhr / Malmtsröm, GKN5 and the theater play “Kven var Odin”, which he has also composed the music for. 

Hardanger fiddle player and singer Helga Myhr made her debut as a soloist with the album “Natten veller seg ut” (Motvind Records, 2019). The exploratory and free interpretations of folk music from Hallingdal received a nomination for the “Spellemannprisen”. Myhr also participates in a number of other projects and is also a permanent member of groups such as Kvedarkvintetten, Morgonrode, improduo together with Tanja Orning and Dei kjenslevare. In 2020, she composed the work “Andsyning” for the festival “Osafestivalen”.  

The clarinetist Anna Malmström is a folk musician sprung from the urban folk and world music scene in Sweden. With Nordic folk music close to her heart, she embraces both Eastern European melodies, jazzy solos and poetic taksim improvisations with inspiration from Ottoman music culture. With Anna’s great curiosity and rich timbres, she constantly finds new ways of expression. Since 2014, she has toured with bands such as Sallyswag, GKN5, World Band, Ale Möllers Zenomania, Erik Dahl Ensemble to name a few. 

«New Swedish-Norwegian super trio! Exquisite, modern folk music that we want to hear more of» – Lira Musikmagasin.  

Helga Myhr

Release date:

EAN : 7033667089845

Cat.No.: HCD7382

Priskategori : CD