Jan Gunnar Hoff: Magma – Jan Gunnar Hoff

JAN GUNNAR HOFF: Magma · Life · Journey home · Stone · Maria´s intro · Winds (lyrics: Maria João) · Earth song · Time · Light years · Karingana (lyrics: Maria João) · Ghiculo (lyrics: Mariamore… João)

Jan Gunnar Hoff: keyboards, piano · Audun Kleive: drums · Mathias Eick: trumpet · Bjørn Kjellemyr: bass · Eivind Aarset: guitar · Helge Andreas Norbakken: percussion · Mike Stern: guitar · Maria João: vocals

With musicians such as Mike Stern, Mathias Eick, Eivind Aarset and Helge Norbakken, Jan Gunnar Hoff has assembled a truly all-star team for his album MAGMA.

kr 139

Genre: Jazz

A Nordic sound blend in with European and North-American dialects.

Pianist and composer Jan Gunner Hoff, based in Bodø in the far north of Norway, has been an active musician in the Norwegian music scene since the seventies. The album ”MAGMA” offers a mix of different geographies and musical traditions. A Nordic sound melts together with European and North-American dialects. The music on this album has been cherry-picked from two larger works by Hoff, commissioned by two Norwegian festivals. The piece ”MAGMA” commissioned by Nordland Musikkfestuke in 2006, and ”Free Flow Songs” that was commissioned by Vossajazz in 2005.

Hoff has put together an all-star team for this project. From his regular band comes double bass player Bjørn Kjellemyr (Terje Rypdal, Rolf Lislevand) and drummer Audun Kleive (Terje Rypdal, Marilyn Mazur Future Song, Bugge Wesseltoft). The legendary guitar player Mike Stern (USA) that got his breakthrough as a member of Miles Davis´ band, contributes both with marvellous ballad-playing and a more rock based sound. The collaboration between Hoff and Stern goes back to 2006, when they did the world premier on the piece MAGMA in Hoff’s hometown Bodø. Maria João (Portugal) is one of the true originals of Portuguese and European jazz. She has released numerous albums on labels such as Universal and Verve. On the tracks with Maria guitarist Eivind Aarset (Nils Petter Molvær, Arild Andersen) and percussionist Helge Norbakken (Jon Balke, Mari Boine) also play. The extremely talented trumpet player Mathias Eick, who has recorded several albums for ECM, brings colour to most of the tracks, and holds a powerful appearance the whole album through.

Audun Kleive |Bjørn Kjellemyr |Eivind Aarset |Helge Andreas Norbakken |Jan Gunnar Hoff |Maria João |Mathias Eick |Mike Stern

Release date:

EAN : 7033662042722

Cat.No.: GRCD4272

Priskategori : CD